Aston Villa boss Lambert fumes over Chelsea penalty decision
After his side were denied a stoppage time penalty for handball in their defeat at Chelsea on Wednesday, Aston Villa manager Paul Lambert has claimed that the home side would have been awarded the spot-kick had the incident happened at the other end, Sky Sports has reported.
As Villa chased a late equaliser at Stamford Bridge, the ball appeared to strike John Terry on the arm inside the Chelsea penalty area, but the penalty was not given by referee Kevin Friend. Lambert criticised that decision and Friend’s failure to send off Branislav Ivanovic, who went on to score the winner for the Blues, for a foul on Christian Benteke.
The ex-Norwich boss said: “I spoke to Kevin afterwards, and obviously what is said in there stays in there. But I didn't need to speak to him really. It was a clear handball. It's a stone-waller, a clear penalty.
“I don't care what anyone says, that is a penalty. Gabby has won the header and it has hit John's hand. I'm pretty sure if it had been down the other end, it would have been given.”
This comes after Lambert’s side were awarded two penalties in the opening day victory at Arsenal on Saturday.
See what the expert tipsters at OLBG are tipping on Aston Villa v Liverpool