Cardiff seek clarification after Chelsea goal allowed to stand
Cardiff City are to ask for an explanation from the Professional Game Match Officials Limited general manager Mike Riley as to why Chelsea’s controversial first goal was allowed to stand during the Premier League meeting between the two clubs on Saturday, the Guardian has reported.
Chelsea had fallen behind to a Jordon Mutch goal but equalised when Samuel Eto’o poked the ball away from goalkeeper David Marshall as Marshall bounced the ball in preparation of clearing it. Eden Hazard netted in the ensuing scramble.
The Guardian quotes the FIFA rulebook as saying the goalkeeper is considered to be in possession of the ball when: “the ball is between his hands and any surface and while in the act of bouncing it on the ground,” which would suggest Eto’o committed a foul when dispossessing Marshall. But the goal was allowed to stand by referee Anthony Taylor, who is thought to have missed the incident, but he did consult his assistant. It is understood the assistant believed Marshall lost control of the ball.
Cardiff manager Malky Mackay confirmed he had spoken to the referee about the incident after the match. “I did go and see the referee just purely to seek clarification as to what they thought they saw,” he said. “They were quite calm and clear.
“The linesman spoke to the referee and the referee spoke to the linesman and they felt that 'Marsh' dropped the ball. That's why I asked for the clarification on if he bounced it. And they immediately went: 'No, no, no, if he bounced it, it's a foul.”
Chelsea went on to win the game 4-1, with Hazard getting a second goal, and Oscar and Eto’o also on the score sheet. The result leaves Cardiff in 16th place with eight points from as many games, and Chelsea second, with 17 points.
See what the expert tipsters are tipping on OLBG