Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp wins Manager of the Year award

Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp has fought off tough competition to win the 2010 Manager of the Year award.

The Spurs manager has led his side to the lucrative fourth position in the Premier League, qualifying for the Champions League. The successful end to the campaign culminated in impressive wins over Arsenal, Chelsea and closest competitors Manchester City.

Redknapp told the club website: “I’m delighted to receive the award but it’s a team effort with Kevin (Bond), Joe (Jordan), Clive (Allen), Tony (Parks), Tim (Sherwood), Les (Ferdinand) and all the coaching and fitness staff.

“Really, I’m just part of the team.

“It’s all down to the players and what they’ve achieved. It’s down to them really and a real honour to receive it.”

Redknapp wins the award ahead of a number of other candidates who also impressed this year, including Roy Hodgson who led Fulham to a Europa Cup final, and title challengers Carlo Ancelotti of Chelsea, and Alex Ferguson of Manchester United.

In a poll of A Different League readers, Hodgson was favourite for the award with 37.6% of votes, followed by Redknapp with 35.5%, and Carlo Ancelotti in third with 23.5%.

Related posts

Leave a Comment