Arsenal Daily – Wenger rings the changes for League Cup semi-final

Arsenal will name a changed squad for tonight’s League Cup second leg clash at home to Ipswich Town according to Arsene Wenger. The Gunners boss said that he had no choice but to make a few changes following his side’s 3-0 win over Wigan Athletic last Saturday. Wenger also mentioned the importance of keeping Cesc Fabregas and Robin van Persie if the North London club wish to have any success this season.

Speaking yesterday the Frenchman said: “Some players have played many games. For example, Nasri has played many games. Arshavin has played many, but van Persie has been out for a long time. He and Fabregas had a long breather and we hope he can benefit from that.

This means that both van Persie and Fabregas will most likely start the game from the bench tonight, with Chamakh and Denilson the probable replacements, while Kieran Gibbs and Andrei Arshavin could replace Gael Clichy and Theo Walcott respectively. Walcott, Samir Nasri, Fabregas, and Johan Djourou are all fit after picking up knocks on Saturday. There was more good news at the Emirates on the injury front with Abu Diaby, Sebastien Squillaci and Tomas Rosicky all expected to make a return to action next Sunday for the FA Cup 4th round clash with Huddersfield Town.

Ipswich, making their fourth appearance at the semi-final stage, have no injuries to report but do lose midfielder Lee Martin who is cup tied. Manager Paul Jewell said his side will prepare for the game at the Emirates as best they can despite the congested fixture list. “It’s a busy time for everyone at the moment but amongst it all we have a massive game on our hands. It’s still a long-term project. There’s no magic wand.

Arsenal will be hoping that Ipswich repeat what they did the last time they got to this stage in 2001. Having taken a 1-0 lead after the first leg against Birmingham City, the Tractor Boys lost the second leg 4-2, with Liverpool going on to win the trophy that year.

Expected line-up for tonight’s game:

Szcesny – Sagna, Djourou, Koscielny, Gibbs – Song, Denilson – Nasri, Wilshire, Arshavin – Chamakh

Related posts

Leave a Comment