Van Persie named Football Writers’ Player of the Year

Arsenal captain Robin van Persie has been named the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Year, the BBC has reported. The honour comes just days after van Persie also won the PFA Player of the Year prize.

Van Persie beat out competition from Manchester United forward Wayne Rooney, Paul Scholes, the United midfielder who came out of retirement in January, and Fulham attacker and United States international Clint Dempsey. Tottenham Hotspur and England midfielder Scott Parker was last year’s FWA Player of the Year.

The 28-year-old becomes the 15th player to win both the PFA gong and the FWA equivalent, with Terry McDermott, then of Liverpool, the first to do so in 1980. Van Persie follows in the trophy-laden footsteps of other double winners such as Kenny Dalglish, Gary Lineker, and two former Arsenal teammates, compatriot Dennis Bergkamp and Thierry Henry, who won both awards in two consecutive years in 2003 and 2004.

See what the expert tipsters at OLBG are tipping on Stoke v Arsenal

Related posts

Leave a Comment