Germany name Euro 2012 squad

Germany manager Joachim Low has named his 23-man squad for Euro 2012.

The squad includes many of the names that contributed to Germany’s third-place finish in the South Africa World Cup, 2010, including Mesut Ozil and Sami Khedira of Real Madrid, along with Manuel Neuer, Thomas Muller and Bastian Schweinsteiger of Bayern Munich. A Premier League twist is also added with the inclusion of Arsenal duo Per Mertesacker and Lukas Podolski.

There are places for highly-rated youngsters Mario Goetze and Marco Reus who moves to Borussia Dortmund on 1st July.

Notable absentees include goalkeeper Marc-Anre ter Stegen, who made errors in Germany’s 5-3 friendly defeat to Switzerland on Saturday, along with Dortmund midfielder Sven Bender.

Manager Joachim Low has been in charge of Die Mannschaft since 2006, when he replaced Jurgen Klinsmann. A semi-final exit at the hands of Spain in the 2008 Euros was followed by another last four finish two years later in South Africa, also at the hands of eventual winners Spain.

GK: Manuel Neuer (Bayern), Tim Wiese (Werder Bremen), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover);

D: Jerome Boateng, Holger Badstuber, Philipp Lahm (all Bayern), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Howedes (Schalke), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund);

M: Mesut Ozil, Sami Khedira (both Real Madrid), Toni Kroos, Thomas Muller, Bastian Schweinsteiger (all Bayern Munich), Marco Reus (Borussia Monchengladbach), Mario Goetze, Ilkay Gundogan (Borussia Dortmund), Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen), Andre Schuerrle (Bayer Leverkusen).

A: Lukas Podolski (Cologne), Mario Gomez (Bayern) Miroslav Klose (Lazio).

Check out the Euro 2012 odds and get some tips on the European Championships betting.


Related posts

Leave a Comment