Invincible Arsenal named greatest Premier League side

The Arsenal side that went a full Premier League season unbeaten in 2003-04 has been named the greatest team in the 20 seasons of the competition, the BBC has reported.

That year the Gunners clinched the title by 11 points from nearest challengers Chelsea and won 26 of their 38 matches. It was a feat that had not been achieved in English football since Preston North End in 1889, although this season in Italy, Juventus replicated the unbeaten streak as they won the Serie A title.

Thierry Henry finished as the league’s top scorer in 2003-04, netting 30 times, while Robert Pires also cracked the top 10 ranking with 14. Both Henry and Pires were named in the PFA Team of the Year, along with club mates Lauren, Ashley Cole, Sol Campbell and Patrick Vieira. Henry also won the PFA Player of the Year, the PFA Fans’ Player of the Year and the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year prizes while Arsene Wenger picked up two Manager of the Year gongs.

Check out the Euro 2012 odds and get some tips on the European Championships betting.

Related posts

Leave a Comment