Shawcross named in England squad as Ferdinand misses out

Ryan Shawcross is in line to make his England debut after being named by Roy Hodgson in the squad to play San Marino and Poland in the forthcoming World Cup qualifiers, but Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand has again been left out, the BBC has reported.

In the first England squad announced since former captain John Terry retired from international football, Hodgson has turned to the uncapped Shawcross as a potential partner for Phil Jagielka or Gary Cahill, who both remain in the travelling party. Joleon Lescott is another candidate to start as the Manchester City defender is chosen by Hodgson despite at times losing his place for his club this season.

Shawcross is also eligible for Wales but turned down an approach from Chris Coleman last month, and has been part of England squads before, having been named as a substitute by Fabio Capello in 2010, but Shawcross failed to make his debut then.

Fraser Forster, the Celtic goalkeeper, is called up for the first time as one of three goalkeepers, alongside first-choice Joe Hart and Norwich City’s John Ruddy. Forster replaces Jack Butland, who remains with the England U-21s ahead of their European Championship qualification play-off match with Serbia.

Aaron Lennon is part of his first England squad for two years after impressing at Tottenham Hotspur under Andre Villas-Boas, while Kieran Gibbs is rewarded for his good form across North London at Arsenal with a place in the squad, at the expense of Chelsea’s Ryan Bertrand.

Wayne Rooney regains his place in Hodgson’s thoughts after recovering from a gashed thigh, while Andy Carroll is back amongst the forwards after an injury of his own. They are joined by Danny Welbeck and Jermain Defoe.

The squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich)

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Kieran Gibbs (Arsenal), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Joleon Lescott (Manchester City), Ryan Shawcross (Stoke), Kyle Walker (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Adam Johnson (Sunderland), Aaron Lennon (Tottenham), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Theo Walcott (Arsenal)

Forwards: Andy Carroll (West Ham), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)

See what the expert tipsters are tipping on OLBG

Related posts

Leave a Comment