LMA chief embarrassed by sackings

The chief executive of the LMA (League Managers’ Association) has described the number of dismissals throughout the English game as ‘embarrassing.’ In a story reported by BBC Sport, Richard Bevan said the numbers of sackings in 2012-13 is at a five-year high. The latest dismissal came at Stevenage on Wednesday, when the League One side fired Gary Smith following a run of dismal results.

Smith’s axing at the Lamex Stadium is the 33rd of the season in terms of managers, and 48th managerial change since July. In total, 103 managers and coaches have lost their jobs this season.

Bevan confessed: “It’s embarrassing for the game that all of those sackings are unfair dismissals. The volatility is undermining the profession.

There have been 43 managerial changes out of the 72 Football League clubs, while Chelsea, QPR, Southampton and Reading have sacked their bosses in the top flight this campaign.

Nottingham Forest, Blackpool and Coventry City have had three permanent managers already this season, and Blackburn’s sacking of Michael Appleton on Tuesday after just 67 days at the helm at Ewood Park means Gary Bowyer becomes their fourth boss of the term.

On the chaos at Blackburn, Bevan said: “Everything in business is about communication. Michael told me he had no conversation at all during his tenure since January with the Indian representative running the club.

He’s got 20 players on the injury bench. What he needed was support, not a letter of sacking.

Managerial changes this season:

Pre-season: Steve Cotterill (Nottingham Forest), Sean Dyche (Watford), Sean O’Driscoll (Crawley Town), Richie Barker (Bury)

August: Andy Thorn (Coventry City), John Sheridan (Chesterfield)

September: Terry Brown (AFC Wimbledon), Gary Waddock (Wycombe Wanderers), John Ward (Colchester United), Steve Kean (Blackburn Rovers)

October: Paul Groves (Bournemouth), Owen Coyle (Bolton Wanderers), Eddie Howe (Burnley), Dougie Freedman (Crystal Palace), Paul Jewell (Ipswich Town), Neale Cooper (Hartlepool United), Paul Cook (Accrington Stanley), Alan Knill (Scunthorpe United)

November: Ian Holloway (Blackpool), Michael Appleton (Portsmouth), Roberto Di Matteo (Chelsea), Mark Hughes (QPR)

December: Micky Mellon (Fleetwood Town), Mark McGhee (Bristol Rovers), Sean O’Driscoll (Nottingham Forest), Henning Berg (Blackburn Rovers), Mark Robson (Barnet), Keith Hill (Barnsley)

January: Carl Fletcher (Plymouth Argyle), Stale Solbakken (Wolves), Dean Saunders (Doncaster Rovers), Michael Appleton (Blackpool), Derek McInnes (Bristol City), Nigel Adkins (Southampton), John Coleman (Rochdale), Simon Grayson (Huddersfield Town)

February: Paul Dickov (Oldham Athletic), Keith Curle (Notts County), Alex McLeish (Nottingham Forest), Mark Robins (Coventry City), Graham Westley (Preston North End), Paolo di Canio (Swindon Town), Dean Holdsworth (Aldershot Town), John Still (Dagenham & Redbridge)

March: Gary Mills (York City), Brian McDermott (Reading), Michael Appleton (Blackburn Rovers), Gary Smith (Stevenage)

See what the expert tipsters at OLBG are tipping on San Marino v England

Related posts

Leave a Comment