Suarez, van Persie and Carrick included in PFA Team of the Year

Despite receiving a chorus of boos on two separate occasions at the PFA gala dinner in London, Luis Suarez was included in the PFA Team of the Year, reports the Daily Mail.

The Liverpool striker is currently serving a 10-match suspension for biting the arm of Branislav Ivanovic last week during a Premier League match at Anfield between Liverpool and Chelsea

However, his performances on the field have earnt him a striking birth in the select XI, alongside favourite for the Golden Boot Robin van Persie.

In total, four Red Devils players made it into the PFA Team of the Year: fellow PFA nominee Michael Carrick was picked in central midfield, with goalkeeper David de Gea beating Sunderland’s Simon Mignolet to the goalkeeping birth. Rio Ferdinand is one of two central defenders, alongside Jan Vertonghen of Tottenham.

Only one Manchester City player made the team, Pablo Zabaleta. Double award winner Gareth Bale, Everton left-back Leighton Baines and the creative Chelsea duo of Eden Hazard and Juan Mata completed the line-up.

Elsewhere, Arsenal Ladies striker Kim Little was the inaugural winner of the Women’s Player of the Year, and the Manchester United squad from 1992/93 were awarded the PFA Merit award.

The PFA Awards: Winners and teams of 2013

PFA Player of the Year: 1. Gareth Bale. 2. Luis Suarez. 3. Robin van Persie

PFA Young Player of the Year: 1. Gareth Bale. 2. Christian Benteke. 3. Eden Hazard

PFA Women’s Player of the Year: Kim Little

PFA Merit Award: Manchester United squad 1992/93

PFA Team of the Year:David de Gea

Pablo Zabaleta – Jan Vertonghen – Rio Ferdinand – Leighton Baines

Juan Mata – Michael Carrick – Eden Hazard – Gareth Bale

Robin van Persie – Luis Suarez

See what the expert tipsters are tipping on OLBG

Related posts

Leave a Comment