Man Utd boss Ferguson voted LMA manager of the year

Sir Alex Ferguson has bowed out at the top and as the the Independent has reported, he has won another award. The retiring Scot was named on Monday night as the LMA’s Premier League manager of the year, holding off competition from Steve Clarke, Michael Laudrup and his successor at Manchester United, David Moyes, for the award.

It is the fourth time Ferguson has won this honour since it was introduced in 1994, also winning the prize in 1999, 2008 and 2011.

When collecting the award at the dinner in London, Ferguson admitted he was glad the celebrations to mark his exit from the game were over. He said: “It has been overwhelming. The club has been fantastic and congratulations to West Brom with the way they handled (Sunday).

In a way I am glad it is all over now – because it has been hard work!

He added his confidence of the sustained success continuing at United, helped by news of the youngsters winning the inaugural Barclays Under-21 Premier League on Monday evening.

It has always placed a great emphasis on youth long before I came. It’s always been there and I have tried to maintain that though it is more difficult in the present climate – you have to scout abroad now but you are still looking for young people who can do well.

Cardiff manager Malky Mackay was named the Championship manager of the year, whilst Gary Johnson from Yeovil Town and Gillingham’s Martin Allen won the League One and Two awards respectively after their promotions to a higher tier of football.

See what the expert tipsters are tipping on OLBG

Related posts

Leave a Comment