Barkley and Townsend named in England squad

Everton teenager Ross Barkley and Tottenham Hotspur winger Andros Townsend have been named by Roy Hodgson in the England squad for the World Cup qualification double-header against Moldova and Ukraine, the FA’s official website has confirmed.

Rickie Lambert is included in the group after scoring on his international debut against Scotland while Fraser Foster, the Celtic goalkeeper, returns to the fold in place of West Brom’s Ben Foster, who picked up a serious injury against Everton on Saturday.

Daniel Sturridge has also been recalled after suffering an injury playing for the national team against the Republic of Ireland in May and missing the August friendly with Scotland. The Liverpool forward thus far has two goals in as many games for his club in the early stages of the new Premier League season.

England host Moldova at Wembley on September 6 before travelling to Ukraine for the September 10 fixture. Hodgson’s side are currently second in Group H, two points behind leaders Montenegro, who have played a game more.

The squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich City)

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Tottenham Hotspur), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United), Ashley Young (Manchester United)

See what the expert tipsters are tipping on OLBG

Related posts

Leave a Comment