Hodgson names England squad for crucial World Cup qualifiers

Roy Hodgson has confirmed his 23-man England squad for the vital World Cup Qualifiers against Montenegro and Poland, The Fa have revealed.

England sit at the top of Group H knowing two wins against Montenegro and Poland will secure a place at Brazil 2014.

And Hodgson has selected Liverpool’s Daniel Sturridge and Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney, who between them have netted eight times in the Premier League this season, after they missed September’s qualifiers against Moldova and Ukraine.

Rickie Lambert also earned his place in the 23-man squad following his first involvement in the national side. Danny Welbeck and Jermain Defoe complete the forwards selected for England.

The squad will gather at St. George’s Park on Monday and begin preparations for the first game of the double header against Montenegro at Wembley Stadium.

England will round off their World Cup qualifying campaign against Poland at Wembley on 15 October. Like Montenegro and Ukraine, Poland can still automatically qualify for Brazil.

The squad in full:


Fraser Forster, Joe Hart, John Ruddy


Leighton Baines, Gary Cahill, Ashley Cole, Phil Jagielka, Phil Jones, Chris Smalling, Kyle Walker


Ross Barkley, Michael Carrick, Tom Cleverley, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, James Milner, Andros Townsend, Jack Wilshere


Jermain Defoe, Rickie Lambert, Wayne Rooney, Daniel Sturridge, Daniel Welbeck

See what the expert tipsters are tipping on OLBG

Related posts

Leave a Comment