English rivals to bag part of Man City FFP fine

Manchester United, Arsenal and Chelsea are all set to receive payment from Manchester City’s Financial Fair Play fine, reports the Telegraph, after European clubs opted to split the money amongst themselves.

UEFA had drawn up plans to split the money across those who qualified for the Champions and Europa Leagues last season – something that has now been firmed up by the European Club Association.

As it stands Tottenham Hotspur, Wigan Athletic and Swansea will also be awarded money, around £212,000 from a pot of £20m gathered from City and other breaching clubs.

After this, a similar sum is also set to be distributed between clubs competing in European competition this season and complying with FFP.

There was an agreement between UEFA and clubs that the fined money belonged to the clubs who complied with the rules, confirmed by ECA chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

Clubs will have the chance to argue for and against any changes to the rules of FFP at UEFA’s next meeting on October 13th.

Speaking about the rules UEFA president Michel Platini said: “The framework for Financial Fair Play must be dynamic, it must evolve constantly, which is why I have convened an important round table on the subject with your representatives at Uefa headquarters on Oct 13.”

See what the expert tipsters at OLBG are tipping on Arsenal v Man City

Related posts

Leave a Comment