Pochettino questions Palace penalty award

Tottenham manager Mauricio Pochettino questioned the decision to award Crystal Palace a penalty which allowed them to come from behind to record a 2-1 victory over his side, Sky Sports has reported.

Both sides had a clear chance each in a goalless first half, with Tottenham’s Christian Eriksen firing wide from close range before goalkeeper Hugo Lloris saved well from Glenn Murray at the other end.

But three minutes into the second half, Tottenham took the lead as in-form striker Harry Kane hit a powerful low shot into the far corner. The North London club then looked comfortable until the penalty award, which proved to be the game’s decisive moment.

Midfielder Benjamin Stambouli was penalised by referee Anthony Taylor for a sliding challenge on Palace’s Joe Ledley, despite there appearing to be minimal contact. Dwight Gayle smashed home the spot-kick, and that inspired the Eagles to take all three points in Alan Pardew’s first game as manager, with Jason Puncheon netting the winner on 83 minutes.

After the game, Pochettino was disappointed at the manner of the defeat, acknowledging the penalty award decided the match. He said: “After 65 minutes we were in control of the game, the penalty changed it all.

‘Maybe we made a mistake afterwards but the penalty maybe wasn’t a penalty and was key. From my point of view in the dugout it’s difficult to give my opinion but my players say he (Stambouli) never touched the player (Ledley).

“It was difficult after conceding the goal, I think they showed more energy than us in the last 15-20 minutes, I am disappointed because after we conceded Palace were better.”

See what the expert tipsters at OLBG are tipping on Arsenal v Stoke

Related posts

Leave a Comment