Referee’s report key to any ban for Chelsea’s Costa

Chelsea striker Diego Costa could still face punishment for his alleged stamp on Emre Can with the Football Association seeking the referee’s report to clarify the situation, Sky Sports are reporting.

The incident appeared to not been seen by a single official during Chelsea’s 1-0 semi-final win in extra time that saw them prevail 2-1 on aggregate.

Costa was also involved in a stamping storm with Martin Skrtel and a tussle with Steven Gerrard on a heated night where Liverpool will feel the Spaniard should not have stayed on the pitch.

Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers believed he was lucky to escape punishment while pundits Thierry Henry and Jamie Redknapp also believe Costa took his aggressive game over the line.

Referee Michael Oliver will now be asked if he or any of his officials saw the incident and if he answers “no” the case will be opened up to retrospective punishment.

And that means a three game ban if the player is found guilty of an incident requiring a straight red card and he would miss their huge clash with Manchester City this weekend.

Unlike in the Premier League, Capital One Cup rules state that it is the referee that makes the decision of punishment not an independent three man panel – meaning Oliver holds the key to Costa’s fate.

See what the expert tipsters at OLBG are tipping on Chelsea v Man City

Related posts

Leave a Comment