Retained list reveals Chelsea have 72 contracted players

With the list of released Premier League players being declared on Wednesday afternoon, it came to light that Chelsea have by far and away the biggest squad roster in the top flight.

Chelsea Transfer Gossip
Varane to seek Real Madrid exit

As the Blues look to retina their Premier League title again next term, they have sought to release just one player – iconic striker Didier Drogba.

The veteran hit man returned to Stamford Bridge last summer after a short spell away to help Jose Mourinho’s men clinch the title with seven goals in 38 appearances across all competitions.

However, with his influence not being what it once was, he has been deemed surplus to requirements.

And though Mourinho has 72 players at his disposal, he used the fewest in the Premier League last term by fielding just 22.

Chelsea are well known for sending a high volume of players out on loan, and the complete list of 72 doesn’t include their six academy scholars, though we have added them at the bottom.

See the full list below.

Contract Players
Abraham Tammy
Aina Temitayo Olufisayo
Ake Nathan Benjamin
Ali Mukhtar Abdullahi
Angban Bekanty Victorien
Azpilicueta Tanco Cesar
Baker Lewis Renard
Bamford Patrick James
Beeney Mitchell Ryan
Blackman Jamal Clint-Ross
Boga Jeremie
Borges da Silva Willian
Brown Isiah Jay
Cahill Gary James
Cech Petr
Chalobah Nathaniel Nyakie
Christensen Andreas Bodtker
Christie-Davies Isaac David
Clarke-Salter Jake-Liam
Colkett Charlie
Collins Bradley Ray
Conroy Dion John
Courtois Thibaut
Cuadrado Bello Juan Guillermo
Cuevas Jara Cristian Alejandro
Da Silva Costa Diego
Dabo Sheik Mohamed Fankaty
Davey Alex James
Davila Plascencia Ulises Alejandro
Delac Matej
Dos Santos Emboaba Oscar
Fabregas Soler Francesc
Feruz Islam
Hazard Eden
Houghton Jordan
Ivanovic Branislav
Kakuta Gael
Kalas Tomas
Kane Todd Arthur Lucien
Kasmirski Filipe Luis
Kiwomya Andrew Alexander
Loftus Cheek Ruben
Marin Marko
Matic Nemanja
McEachran Joshua Mark
Mikel John Obi
Mitchell Reece Steven
Moses Victor
Musonda Charles
Musonda Tika Kafusha
Oliveira Dos Santos Wallace
Omeruo Kenneth
Palmer Kasey Remel
Pasalic Mario
Perica Stipe
Piazon Lucas Domingues
Remy Loic
Rodriguez Gonzalez Jhoao Leandro
Salah Mohamed
Sammut Ruben
Santos Do Nascimento Ramires
Scott Kyle
Solanke-Mitchell Dominic Ayodele
Suljic Ali
Swift John David
Terry John George
Traore Bertrand
Twasam Christian Atsu
Van Ginkel Wulfert Cornelius
Vidal Oriol Romeu
Wright Kevin
Zouma Kurt Happy

Adamczyk Hubert
Bolkiah Faiq Jefri
Dasilva Jay Rhys
Muheim Miro Max Maria
Tomori Fikayo
Wakefield Charlie Mark

Free transfers
Drogba Didier

Related posts

Leave a Comment