The best XI to never win the Champions League

ronaldo real madrid

The international break is over, with England beating Germany on the road before losing at home to the Netherlands. Club competitions are ready to start again, as they enter the final stages of the current season.

However, on April 5 and 6 the Champions League resumes with the first legs of four quarter-final matches: PSG – Manchester City, Barcelona – Atletico Madrid, Wolfsburg – Real Madrid, and Bayern Munich – Benfica.

Many great players have won the biggest European competition, but some football superstars were (or have been so far in their career) unable to lift the trophy with the two big ears.

Therefore, let’s take a look at the best XI to never win the Champions League.

Goalkeeper and defence

Gianluigi Buffon had two chances to win Europe’s biggest trophy, but Juventus was unable to win the 2003 (against Milan) and 2015 (against Barcelona) finals. The 38-year-old is planning to play two more years, so he can still win it.

Buffon is joined by a defence comprised of former team-mates Fabio Cannavaro and Lilian Thuram, and Arsenal legend Sol Campbell. Cannavaro was unable to reach a Champions League final, while Campbell lost the 2006 one against Barcelona and Thuram the 2003 one against Milan.


Our four-man midfield starts with Bayern legend Lothar Matthäus. The German failed to win two Europa Cup finals with the Bundesliga giants: in 1987 (against Porto) and in 1999 (against Manchester United). He’s joined by former Arsenal star Patrick Vieira. The Frenchman nearly won it, but he left Inter in January before the club won the Champions League later that season.

Juventus legend Pavel Nedved came close once, when the Old Lady were beaten by Milan on penalty’s in the 2003 final. And than there’s Diego Maradona, who failed to reach the final in his illustrious career.


And what about that three-man attack: Brazil legend Ronaldo, PSG’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Italian legend Roberto Baggio. Ibrahimovic is still active and could win the Champions League in his career. Baggio won the Ballon d’Or but was unable to reach the CL final. The same is true for Ronaldo, who was was cup-tied with Real Madrid and ineligible to take part in AC Milan’s successful run in 2007.

Related posts

Leave a Comment