The silly rule why not every Leicester City player will be awarded with a championship medal

Leicester City secured their first ever Premier League title as Tottenham drew 2-2 at Stamford Bridge against Chelsea, giving away a two-goal lead.

The Foxes are now seven points clear at the top of the league table with only two games remaining. Leicester will host Everton next weekend, while heading to Stamford Bridge to face Chelsea on the final matchday.

Those two fixtures will only be a formality for Leicester, who pulled off the impossible after narrowly avoiding relegation last season and keeping the likes of Arsenal, Manchester City and Manchester United far behind them.

However, not every Fox will be awarded with a championship medal when the league officially hands the club the title trophy, due to one silly rule in the rule book.

Only players who have appeared in at least five league games for the champions get awarded such a medal. This will hit eight players in the Foxes’ squad, despite spending a significant time of the season at the King Power Stadium:

– Mark Schwarzer (0 league games)
– Marcin Wasilewski (2)
– Liam Moore (0)
– Ben Chillwell (0)
– Yohan Benalouane (4)
– Dean Hammon (0)
– Joe Dodoo (1)
– Andrej Kramaric (2)

Related posts

Leave a Comment