Top five Premier League managers who’ve won the most Manager of the Month awards

Claudio Ranieri recently won his fourth Manager of the Month award, his second of the current season in which he has guided Leicester City to an improbable Premier League title challenge.

The Italian has now won as many awards as Carlo Ancelotti, Roy Hodgson, Joe Kinnear, Manuel Pellegrini, and Gordon Strachan, according to The Sun. Ranieri has even won more awards than the likes of Jose Mourinho, Alan Pardew, Mauricio Pochettino, and Brendan Rodgers.

Still, Ranieri isn’t featured in the top five, but which managers are? Let’s find out!

5. Sam Allardyce – Rafa Benitez – Bobby Robson: 6 wins

Allardyce is currently having a rough season with Sunderland, fighting to stay in the top flight. However, he won the award numerous times in charge of Bolton.

Benitez began his third coaching spell in the Premier League at Newcastle. However, he was pretty successful at Liverpool and Chelsea, winning six awards so far in his career.

The Magpies endured a great run under Kevin Keegan, who won the award five times. However, he was surpassed by Robson with six awards.

4. Martin O’Neill – Harry Redknapp: 8 wins

Both O’Neill and Redknapp coached several Premier League teams and won multiple Manager of the Month awards. O’Neill did it with Sunderland, Leicester, and Aston Villa, while Redknapp scooped up a total of eight awards at West Ham, Tottenham, Portmouth, and Southampton.

3. David Moyes: 10 wins

Moyes spent a decade coaching Everton and that translated in a transfer to Manchester United. The Scotsman won ten Manager of the Month awards, but could not replicate his success at Old Trafford.

2. Arsene Wenger: 15 wins

Wenger is the Premier League’s longest-serving manager, being at Arsenal since 1996. The Frenchman has won the award 15 times during his illurstious career, his first coming in 1998. However, there’ve been eight seasons in which Wenger did not win one Manager of the Month award.

1. Alex Ferguson: 27 wins

Despite Wenger’s long career, he can’t touch Ferguson. The Manchester United legend won his first award in 1993 and added 26 more until he resigned in 2012.

Related posts

Leave a Comment