FA post a brilliant response to leaked Euro 2016 squad list

Earlier this week, a picture was doing the rounds on Twitter, which was apparently a screenshot of England’s Euro 2016 squad.

The original poster on Twitter claimed to have taken the screenshot when the FA updated the team on their website by mistake before pulling it down.

The image displayed a 23-man squad with eight players on standby. Tottenham defenders Kyle Walker and Danny Rose failed to make the cut while Manchester United’s Luke Shaw was given a chance. Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere, who has just returned from his injury, also made the cut.

However, it now seems that it was nothing more than a brilliant photoshop job. The FA’s official Twitter account has dismissed the picture as fake in a hilarious manner.

Twitter user Jonny Gabriel, the original poster of the image, later confirmed that the list was fake by replying to the FA’s tweet with famous song ‘Original Prankster’ by punk-rock band The Offspring.

The Three Lions will take on Russia, Wales and Slovakia in Euro 2016’s Group B this summer, starting with a game against the Russians on June 11.

Related posts

Leave a Comment